//
you're reading...
The Wise

Learning to “mooch” off of God???

“Then, turning to his disciples, Jesus said, “That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food to eat or enough clothes to wear. For life is more than food, and your body more than clothing. Look at the ravens. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for God feeds them. And you are far more valuable to him than any birds! Can all your worries add a single moment to your life? And if worry can’t accomplish a little thing like that, what’s the use of worrying over bigger things?

“Look at the lilies and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. And if God cares so wonderfully for flowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith?

“And don’t be concerned about what to eat and what to drink. Don’t worry about such things. These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers all over the world, but your Father already knows your needs. Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and he will give you everything you need.”

– Luke 12:22-31 (NLT)

This lesson has arguably been the most prominent in my life as of late (like…since 2008 or so). I’m learning that a life surrendered more and more to God’s will is a life that contradicts more and more with what society expects. This goes beyond the proverbial “no sex before marriage” or “going to church on Sunday” aspects of the so-called “Christian” life. This deals with the much more routine and subtle aspects of life; things that are otherwise considered practical and, within themselves, aren’t even sinful – like whether or not to pursue a Master’s degree, a job, buying a car, a house, or even a wife.

I’m finding that the more one’s life is surrendered to God, the deeper His influence and direction seeps down into his/her everyday routine. More and more of their decisions will be influenced by Him; not by their parents, well-meaning friends, or anyone else with good intentions – regardless of how qualified they may be to advise.

For me, my outlook on life has been turned upside-down in terms of where I thought I’d be compared to where I actually am now. Over the past several years, I’ve worried about the recession, finding work, my professional development, going to school to secure my own future, moving out of my parents’ house, dating/marriage…and now, simply buying a car. So far, NOTHING has gone according to my own plan…yet I see God’s fingerprints ALL over it.

In the midst of this uncertainty I’ve experienced throughout the years, and as I’ve grown closer and closer to Christ, I began to notice His provision for every one of my needs. From food and shelter to transportation and employment, God always opened doors when needed. I can see that God has plan for my life that transcends my own efforts to make sure my needs are met and my future is secure. I was just trying to do what I was expected to do (and what others were doing around me) – graduate, get a job, get a car, get a wife, make money, move up, move out, etc-etc. But God has been showing me exactly what He taught in Luke 12:22-31; that all of those things are not my burden. They’re His – which in so many ways contradicts what had been ingrained inside of me by society.

mooch

/mo͞oCH/

Verb
Ask for or obtain (something) without paying for it
About The Motley Sage

...just the motley fool with a college degree, a few books read and a little life to share. *quietly rolling by on a unicycle wearing a harlequin spandex suit while reading 'The Art of War'*

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

